Keeping you informed of the Happenings at the Manukau Stadium


Keeping You Informed on Happenings at the Auckland Greyhound Racing Club

Our Great Race on Sunday

The field assembled for the Great Race provides the opportunity for the 2018 Duke of Edinburgh Silver Collar to potentially being the best ever Silver Collar.

When we watch the Trackside promotion flashing the names of past winners of the Great Race it inspires to be oncourse on Sunday to witness history being made.

We extend our best wishes to the connections of this year’s Duke of Edinburgh Silver Collar

Last One Standing

The Inglewood Syndicate, with an investment of $721, fell at the final fence last week

So, we will put up the $400 again.

The Last One Standing Competition is a team’s event.  Each team comprises 5 players.  Each team must invest on the designated races- Races 5 to 9.  Entry Fee $50

You get to keep your winnings plus a bonus of $400 if you are the winning team.

If so get your team organised, note all team members must be on course to participate in the competition   Entries close with Steve Campbell at 2.00pm

Special Thanks

We certainly do not wish to repeat the events of last weekend whereby the race meeting was postponed to the Monday.  But we got there in the end and the Silver Collar Heats were run and won and $39,600 of stake money was paid out to the stakeholders.

Events like this are overcome with some frustration, pain, extra effort and sheer determination.

While we thank everyone for their patience and understanding there are a few people that went the extra yard to make it happen.  To John Roberts, Philiipa Kinsey, Ben Van Kan and Sel Loader who took time on Sunday to commence the repairs to the major washout our special thanks.

Likewise, to Phil Green, Paul Freeman, Philippa Kinsey and John Roberts who turned up on Monday morning to ensure the track was right.

Thanks also to the NZRB, Greg Kerr, Michael Dore and the Staff for making the Monday meeting happen.

Alan Caddy Appreciation

The race name for race 6 on Sunday recognizes the service Alan Caddy has provided to the Auckland Greyhound Racing Club over the last 20 years.

Alan was the editor of the weekly tipping guide Bests Bets, primarily an equine product. 

Thanks to Alan’ efforts the Auckland Greyhound Racing Club’s Sunday fields and a preview were part of this publication for many years.  This helped the Club develop its punter base and drive turnover.  When the NZRB reformatted Best Bets the greyhound fields were deleted from the publication.

Alan’s service to the Club was clearly demonstrated in March when the fields for the Auckland Cup meeting just happened to appear in the Best Bets.

Thanks Alan and we wish you and Rose all the best in the next part of your life’s journey.

Have a Drink for the Duke

Don’t forget to raise a glass and toast the Duke of Edinburgh Prince Phillip, who was instrumental in creating Our Great Race, on Sunday as he celebrates his 97th birthday.

See you Sunday first race 1.20pm


  Bookmark this page in your web - Notice Board